@phoenix Well that would explain it then.. Technically you still had to mute/block just as many people, its just your allowing someone else to maintain your blocklist for you.
Such a thing exists in twitter too, shared block lists where others can collectively maintain a block list you subscribe to and use. Its very similar to the idea here though organized in a way where there is no single central point of authority for any one user.