So it turns out #ChatGPT does not actually "remember" previous interactions, but the web-app creates the illusion that it does by resubmitting past questions and answers each time a new input is provided.
Once the size limit is reached, however, #ChatGPT will no longer have access to this information and will effectively "forget" the previous conversation.