I agree, and if i were in your shoes I would want the same.
We used to have user deletes turned off for this very reason. People were deleting accounts and had no idea it was permanent and irreversible (even though the user is warned as such when they do it). So we turned it off and required users to request deletion from us just so we can press the point that once this is done there is no coming back.
However many users complained as they felt this violated their right to delete their user without moderator intervention, and they had a point. So we re-enabled it.
It is kind of a loose-loose situation for people like yourself as it is unrecoverable should you change your mind. That is one reason I suggest the whole hashed-email approach as a way for users to recover deleted accounts. But thats not how things are coded up at the moment.
@hansw@mastodon.social @Gargron
@freemo
That's right. I just want to create a fresh account with the same username.
@hansw @Gargron