Actually you can continue to reply once your blocked assuming authorized fetch isnt used.. and assuming your local server doesnt stop you somehow.
There are different types of blocked but the regular block that doesnt use auth-fetch is meant to be invisible to the other server, the server and the person dont know their blocked. So you can continue to reply once blocked and the replies will show.
I know because I do it all the time when i dont realized im blocked and only find out im blocked later.